Published Nov 29, 2023


OKLAHOMA CITY (November 29, 2023) – The Women’s Premier Soccer League announced eight former players have been named as semifinalists for the 2023 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy presented by the United Soccer Coaches and Missouri Athletic Club. The WPSL alumnae who’ve been selected have all played within the last three seasons with some earning recognition with Player of the Year and Best XI Team honors.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual honor awarded to the best men's and women’s collegiate player each year. Previous WPSL alumnae to have earned the achievement include Jaelin Howell (Motor City FC) and Catarina Macario (San Diego Sea Lions).

Among this year’s semifinalists named include two-time West Region Player of the Week for the 2023 season, Eleanor Dale (California Storm), 2023 Heartland Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Emily Gaebe (Lou Fusz Athletic), and BEST XI selections for 2023 and 2022 in Hannah Anderson (FC Dallas) and Laveni Vaka (Utah Avalanche).

Three players will be selected and named as finalists on Wednesday, Dec. 6 with the official ceremony to announce the winners held in St. Louis on Jan. 5, 2024. Two of last year’s finalists, Korbin Albert (Cleveland Ambassadors/Chicago Red Star Reserves) and Jenna Nighswonger (Miss Kick FC) honed their talents in the WPSL.


WPSL Alumnae named as 2023 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Jasmine Aikey


MVLA Wolves


Hannah Anderson

Texas Tech

FC Dallas

’23, ’22, ‘21

Eleanor Dale


California Storm


Emily Gaebe

Saint Louis

Lou Fusz Athletic


Eva Gaetino

Notre Dame

Ambassadors Cleveland


Brittany Raphino


Delaware Ospreys


Lilly Reale


Miss Kick FC


Laveni Vaka


Utah Avalanche

’22, ‘21



About the Women’s Premier Soccer League

The WPSL returns for its 26th season of play as the longest-active women’s soccer league in the United States. Boasting more than 125 clubs nationwide while occupying 35 states coast-to-coast, the WPSL solidifies itself as the largest women’s soccer league in the world. Team rosters feature elite collegiate, post-collegiate, international, and standout prep student-athletes. Many of the United States’ most accomplished women’s national team players have played in the WPSL since its inception in 1998, including household names such as Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe, Abby Wambach, and Brandi Chastain.