Jerry Zanelli Cup


Since 2018, the Jerry Zanelli Cup is awarded to the WPSL Champions of each season. 

Zanelli founded the Women's Premier Soccer League in 1998 and under his leadership and vision the league became the largest women's soccer league in the world with more than 100 clubs. Zanelli was a true pioneer of the women's game.

Zanelli also founded and coached the historic California Storm who has been part of the WPSL since its inaugural year. With the Storm, Zanelli reached six WPSL Finals, winning three (1999, 2002, 2004).

On January 26, 2018, at the league's Annual General Meeting in Las Vegas, the United States Adult Soccer Association president John Motta presented the trophy to Zanelli in his honor.


In November, 2018, at the age of 80, Zanelli passed away - but his leagacy lives in women's soccers and with the WPSL.





The Jerry Zanelli Cup was designed and produced by Jeff Weis of MTM Recognition - the most comprehensive recognition solutions provider in the United States.

Founded in 1971 as Midwest Trophy in Oklahoma City, the company was re-named MTM Recognition and has seen annual revenues grow from $16,000 to over $90 million in its 46 years in operation.

MTM produces many memorable products, including many of the most recognizable awards in the world of sports such as:

  • Heisman Trophy

  • NCAA


  • PGA & LPGA Tour Events

  • Special Olympics

  • 16 College Footbal Bowl Games

  • 18 College Conferences

  • Major League Baseball